Unofficial vote tallies from Utah’s Tuesday primary elections

Adobe Stock

SALT LAKE CITY — The latest unofficial, incomplete results from Tuesday’s primary elections in Utah available at press time.

In partisan races, the leading vote-getter in each contest advances to the Nov. 3 general election.

Key to party affiliations: (R) Republican, (D) Democrat, (C) Constitution, (UU) United Utah Party, (IA) Independent American Party, (L) Libertarian, (G) Green and (unaf) unaffiliated.

Local school board elections are nonpartisan. In those primaries, the top two vote-getters for each office advance to the general election.

“Inc” denotes incumbent.

Results listed below do not include ballots postmarked by Tuesday but that had not been counted at county clerks’ offices by Tuesday, nor do they include provisional ballots. Results are not official until votes are canvassed, up to three weeks after election day.

Governor, lt. governor

Spencer J. Cox (R)
Deidre M. Henderson 145,730 37%

Jon Huntsman Jr. (R)
Michelle Kaufusi 135,577 34%

Greg Hughes (R)
Victor Iverson 81,506 21%

Thomas E. Wright (R)

Rob Bishop 31,585 8%

Also on the general election ballot: Chris Peterson and Karina Brown (D), Daniel Rhead Cottam and Barry Evan Short (L) and Greg Duerden and Wayne Hill (IA)

Gov. Gary Herbert (R) did not seek reelection; Lt. Gov. Spencer Cox (R) is a candidate for governor

U.S. House District 1

Davis County north of Farmington, and all of Weber, Cache, Box Elder, Summit, Uintah, Duchesne, Morgan, Rich and Daggett counties


Blake David Moore (R) 27,416 30%

Bob Stevenson (R) 26,847 30%

Kerry W. Gibson (R) 21,222 23%

Katie Witt (R) 15,115 17%


Darren Parry (D) 8,881 53%

Jamie Cheek (D) 8,033 47%

No candidates filed from other parties

Rob Bishop (R-inc) did not seek reelection and was a candidate for lieutenant governor

U.S. House District 2

Portions of Salt Lake County (Salt Lake City except for south of I-80, West Valley City generally west of 4000 West, Kearns west of 5600 West, Magna, and Emigration and Parlays canyons), Davis County (Farmington and south), Sanpete County (south of Pigeon Hollow Junction) and Juab County (western part of county); and all of Tooele, Millard, Sevier, Wayne, Piute, Beaver, Iron, Washington, Garfield and Kane coumties

No primary election

On the general election ballot: Chris Stewart (R-inc), Kael Weston (D) and J. Robert Latham (L)

U.S. House District 3

Utah County areas generally east of I-15, plus all of Provo, Orem and Vineyard; Salt Lake County: Sandy and Midvale east of 700 East, and most of Draper, Cottonwood Heights and Holladay in; and all of Wasatch, Carbon, Emery, Grand and San Juan counties

No primary election

On the general election ballot: John Curtis (R-inc), Devin D. Thorpe (D), Thomas G. McNeill (UU) and Daniel Clyde Cummings (C)

U.S. House District 4

Portions of Salt Lake County (Salt Lake City south of I-80, South Salt Lake, Millcreek, West Valley City generally east of 4000 West, Taylorsville, Murray, West Jordan, Midvale wet of 700 East, Sandy west of 700 East, South Jordan, Riverton, Herriman and Bluffdale); Utah County (Lehi and American Fork areas west of I-15, Saratoga Springs, Eagle Mountain, Cedar Valley, and south county areas west of I-15); Sanpete County (north of Pigeon Hollow Junction); and Juab County (eastern part of county)

Burgess Owens (R) 33,530 43%

Kim …read more

Source:: Deseret News – Top stories


(Visited 5 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *