Lionesses and stars arrive for Women’s Football Awards

Eni Aluko and Jamie Carragher

The hosts have arrived! (Picture: PA)

Votes have been cast and the winners of the inaugural Women’s Football Awards are almost ready to be announced.

The Lionesses as well as other members of women’s football royalty have started arriving at the glitzy ceremony at Nobu Hotel in London.

Eni Aluko, who made 102 appearances for the England national team, is hosting the ceremony alongside Jamie Carragher, a presenter at Sky Sports.

She’s already arrived but there will be plenty more famous faces appearing throughout the evening – and will be updating you as they walk the red carpet.

Our reporter Kirsten Robertson was lucky enough to be invited and she’ll be sharing the backstage gossip and letting us in on the event’s atmosphere.

The ceremony will mark the first time that all levels of women’s football will be recognised at one major awards event. 

Other big names, in sport or otherwise, have also arrived, including boxer Nicola Adams and broadcaster Myleene Klass.

Latest London news

Just Stop Oil protesters soaked by sprinkler at Chelsea Flower Show

TikToker Mizzy tells Piers Morgan ‘I do what I want’ after ‘pathetic’ £365 fine for pranks

RideLondon 2023: Full list of road closures on May 28 – are you affected?

To get the latest news from the capital visit’s visit Metro’s London news hub.

More than 20,000 footie fans cast their votes for categories like Best Club of the Year, Journalist or Broadcaster of the Year, and Marketing Campaign of the Year.

Eni Aluko is co-hosting this evening (Picture: Kate Green/Getty Images)

Jamie Carragher is also hosting (Picture: Kate Green/Getty Images)

Nicola Adams has arrived (Picture: Kate Green/Getty Images)

Myleene Klass is also here (Picture: Kate Green/Getty Images)

Manchester United’s Mary Earps, Barcelona’s Lucy Bronze and Arsenal’s Beth Mead are all nominated this evening.

Others from the triumphant Euros 2022 squad, such as Leah Williamson, Alessia Russo, Keira Walsh and Georgina Stanway, could also scoop further silverware at the ceremony.

Votes will now be assessed by a star-studded judging panel including Lionesses Nikita Parris and Jess Carter and sports media personalities such as Hayley McQueen, Sue Smith and Seema Jaswal.

Get in touch with our news team by emailing us at

For more stories like this, check our news page.

…read more

Source:: Metro


(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *