Brock Purdy wins 49ers’ prestigous Len Eshmont Award

SANTA CLARA — Brock Purdy did not win his Super Bowl debut, but he did receive the 49ers’ greatest honor from his teammates, that being the Len Eshmont Award.

Purdy headlined the 49ers’ team-award winners that were announced Tuesday, two days after their championship dreams ended with a 25-22 overtime loss to the Kansas City Chiefs.

Other quarterbacks to have won the Eshmont: Y.A. Tittle, John Brodie, Joe Montana (twice), Steve Young (twice) and Colin Kaepernick. Current 49ers who previously won it: George Kittle (2019), Fred Warner (2020), Deebo Samuel (2021), Nick Bosa (2022).

Coaches awarded running back Christian McCaffrey the Bill Walsh Award. McCaffrey was named the AP NFL Offensive Player of the Year on Thursday, and an image of that is currently on display on Levi’s Stadium’s video billboards, along with Patrick Willis’ Pro Football Hall of Fame invitation.

Others honored:

Bobb McKittrick Award: Right tackle Colton McKivitz

Hazeltine Iron Man Award: Linebacker Fred Warner

Thomas Herrion Memorial Award: Safety Ji’Ayir Brown

Ed Block Courage Award: Defensive tackle Javon Kinlaw

Perry/Yonamine Unity Award: Tight end George Kittle

Community Relations Service Awards: Linebacker Curtis Robinson and offensive lineman Ilm Manning. Also, general manager John Lynch’s wife, Linda Lynch, received the family award. The inaugural “position” group award was given to the linebackers.

NFL Salute to Service Award: George Kittle

Walter Payton Man of the Year Nominee: Defensive tackle Arik ArmsteadRelated Articles

San Francisco 49ers |

What’s next for 49ers? Early look at free agents, offseason priorities

San Francisco 49ers |

Super Bowl sets ratings record with a staggering 123.4 million viewers, TV’s biggest audience since the moon landing

San Francisco 49ers |

Indicted Santa Clara Councilmember Anthony Becker’s trial over 49ers report leak gets pushed back

San Francisco 49ers |

Here comes the national media overreaction, painting 49ers’ Super Bowl run a failure

San Francisco 49ers |

10 reasons why the 49ers lost Super Bowl LVIII to the Chiefs

Garry Niver Award (as awarded by the Pro Football Writers of Association): Defensive end Nick Bosa


…read more

Source:: The Mercury News – Entertainment


(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *