Bridge: Sept. 22, 2022

To end his act, a Spanish magician announced that he would disappear at the count of three. He intoned “uno, dos …” and then, sure enough, he vanished without a tres.

In a duplicate event, South has three losers at his contract of four spades: a heart, a diamond and a club. Can he make one loser disappear, making a vital overtrick?

The actual South ruffed the second club, drew trumps, cashed the A-K of hearts and conceded a heart. He ruffed the next club and would have won the rest if diamonds had split 3-3 or if East had held four or more diamonds (and had been squeezed in the minors). As it was, South lost a diamond to West.


To make a loser disappear, South takes only the K-Q of trumps, then the K-A of diamonds. When he leads a third diamond from dummy, East is stuck.

If East ruffs, South follows low, later discards a heart from dummy on the queen and ruffs his low heart. If instead East discards, South takes the queen and ruffs his last diamond in dummy.


You hold: S A 8 7 H 5 4 3 D A 5 3 C K 6 5 3. Your partner opens one spade. The next player bids two hearts. What do

you say?

ANSWER: Your opponent’s bid rules out a temporizing two-club response. (If two clubs would force to game, it would not be an option.) A raise to two spades would be an underbid. A negative double is possible. Many players would cue-bid three hearts to show spade support and at least invitational strength.

South deals

N-S vulnerable


S A 8 7

H 5 4 3

D A 5 3

C K 6 5 3


S 4 2

H Q 10 7 6

D 10 9 8 6

C J 10 4


S 6 5 3

H J 9 8

D J 7

C A Q 9 8 2


S K Q J 10 9

H A K 2

D K Q 4 2

C 7

South West North East
1 S Pass 2 C Pass
2 D Pass 2 S Pass
3 H Pass 3 S Pass
4 S All Pass
Opening lead — C J

©2022 Tribune Content Agency, LLC.

…read more

Source:: The Mercury News – Entertainment


(Visited 8 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *